University of Virginia Department of Astronomy, Photo Courtesy of Jack Looney(
UVA Home Department Maps Charlottesville, VA 
Horizontal bar
Click for larger version

Astronomy graduate students pose in front of the Department of Astronomy with their snowman creation on 14 February 2014. The University of Virginia was closed on 13 and 14 February after a large snowstorm left the roads icy and snow-covered. Apparently the snow and closure didn't prevent these graduate students from trekking in to the Department!

Recent News

02 April 2014
Graduate Student Sandy Liss and Undergraduate Student Catherine Zucker were jointly awarded a 2014 Double Hoo Research Grant from UVa. From the Double Hoo website: "The Double Hoo Research Grant supports pairs of undergraduate and graduate scholars seeking to pursue joint research projects. The award is intended to encourage collaborative interaction between the undergraduate and graduate communities at the University."

01 April 2014
Graduate Student Sandy Liss was awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

21 March 2014
Associate Professor Ed Murphy has been honored with the UVa Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award, one of the most prestigious teaching awards that the University offers.

20 March 2014
Undergraduate student Catherine Zucker is featured in an article showcasing her research on the "rise of American astronomy before the Civil War."

19 March 2014
Graduate students Jake Turner and Trey Wenger were awarded Huskey Scholarships for their presentations at the 2014 Huskey Research Exhibition.

27 February 2014
SDSS-III Project APOGEE-1, led by UVa Professor Steve Majewski, completes observations for 100,000 stars in the Milky Way.

18 February 2014
NASA press release: Assistant Professor Nitya Kallivayalil measures the proper motion rotation of the Large Magellanic Cloud with the Hubble Space Telescope.

6 January 2014
UVA Research Professor and NRAO Staff Astronomer Scott Ransom and collaborators discover a pulsar in a unique triple-star system

6 January 2014
Assistant Professor Rémy Indebetouw and collaborators discover freshly formed dust in supernova 1987A remnant using ALMA

12 December 2013
Professor Steve Majewski, Assistant Professor Rémy Indebetouw, and graduate student Rachael Beaton released Spitzer imaging in the Outer Disk through the Milky Way Project on Zooniverse

November 2013
APOGEE-2, a continuation of the APOGEE project in the southern hemisphere, was approved as an SDSS-IV program. Jenn Sobeck joins the Department as a research associate and Deputy Project Director for APOGEE-2.

1 September 2013
Associate Professor Kelsey Johnson began her term on the Board of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific

31 July 2013
The first APOGEE public release of spectroscopic data with SDSS DR10

23 July 2013
Professor Emeritus Charlie Tolbert has received the 2013 Richard H. Emmons Award for excellence in College Astronomy Teaching from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific

30 May 2013
Assistant Professor Nitya Kallivayalil awarded 60 orbits on the Hubble Space Telescope to measure the proper motion and internal kinematics of the SMC

28 May 2013
VITA Professor and Associate Dean John Hawley receives the 2013 Shaw Prize in Astronomy for his work with Steve Balbus on angular momentum transfer in accretion disks

News Archive