Where have they gone?

UVa astronomy grads job listing

Most of our graduating Ph.D. students find jobs in astronomy, and go on to successful careers in astronomy. Since 1990, about 85% of our new Ph.D.’s have found astronomy research positions, and 100% have obtained jobs related to their graduate training. First positions after the Ph.D. are typically at academic institutions or national laboratories. Here is a listing of the last three years of graduates and their current jobs:
Name & email address Ph.D. year Current position
Jeff Carlin
2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, Rensselaer Polythechnic Institute
Mei-Yin Chou
2010 Postdoc, Academia Sinica, Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Ori Fox
2010 NPP Postdoctoral Researcher, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Chan Park
2010 Instrumentation Scientist, Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
Jake Simon
2010 JILA Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Colorado
Dan Wik
2010 NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Ka Wah Wong
2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Alabama
David Nidever
2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Virginia
Srikrishna Kanneganti
2009 Postdoctoral Fellow, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik
Richard Mellon
2009 Ab Initio Software
Jodie Morgan
Ricardo Muñoz
2008 Postdoctoral Researcher, Yale University
Alok Singhal
2008 Merfin, LLC
Jennifer Bartlett
2007 United States Naval Observatory
Tanim Islam
2007 Design Physicist, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Jeffrey Oishi
2007 Postdoctoral Researcher, UC Berkeley

Many of our former graduate students get permanent positions as well. Here’s a list of the rest of our graduates since 1967 and where they are now.

Name & email address Ph.D. year Current position
Gregory Sivakoff
2006 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Virginia
David Rosario
2006 Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Santa Cruz
Allyson Sheffield
2006 Visiting Assistant Professor, Vassar College
Peter Frinchaboy
2006 Assistant Professor, Texas Christian University
Scott Randall
2005 Mission Planner, Chandra Science Operations Team, Harvard Center for Astrophysics
Jeff Crane
2004Research Associate, Observatories of the Carnegie Institution of Washington
John Silverman
2004Faculty Member, Institute for Physics and Mathematics of the Universe, University of Tokyo
Tony Sohn
2004 Postdoctoral Researcher, Space Telescope Science Institute
Jamie Ostheimer
2002Northrop Grumman Information Technology
Wayne Winters
2002Formerly: Science Faculty, Latin School of Chicago
Joshua Kempner
  contact form
2002 Senior Imaging Scientist, VisEn Medical
Zhenping Huang
2001 IceCube Neutrino Experiment, University of Maryland, and NASA/GSFC
Michael Siegel
2002 Research Associate, Penn State University
Chih-Yueh Wang
2001 Department of Physics, Chung-Yuan Christian University, Taiwan
Chris Palma
2001 Associate Director of Outreach, Eberly College of Science, Penn. State
Franz Bauer
2000 Assistant Professor, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Ronak Shah
2000 Research Astronomer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Raymond G. Ohl, IV
2000 Optical physicist, NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
Eric Richards
1999 Senior Scientist, Q-Track Corporation
Noella L. D’Cruz
1998 Associate Professor, Joliet Junior College
Jimmy Irwin
1997 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama
Fan Fang
1997 Research Scientist, Spitzer Science Center
Vikram V. Dwarkadas
1997 Senior Research Scientist, University of Chicago
Jonathan H. Whitney
1996 Formerly: Programmer, Kesmai Corporation
Edward M. Murphy
1996 Associate Professor, University of Virginia
David T. Frayer
1996 Associate Scientist, NRAO Green Bank
Geary E. Albright
1996 Assistant Professor, Physics Department, James Madison Univ.
Phillip C. Plait
  contact info
1995 The “Bad Astronomer”
Ricky Patterson
1995 Senior Scientist, University of Virginia
Gregory S. Hennessy
1995 Data Reduction and Instrumentation Division, Astrometry Department, United States Naval Observatory, and Sloan Digital Sky Survey
William W. Dalton
1995 Technical Director, BioWare Austin
Charles H. Nelson III
1994 Assistant Professor, Drake University and Director, Drake Municipal Observatory
Richard F. Gelderman
1994 Associate Professor, Western Kentucky University
Prudence N. Foster
1994 Research Fellow, QUEST, University of Bristol
Michael W. Wise
1992 Postdoc, Astronomical Institute “Anton Kannekoek”, University of Amsterdam
Eric A. Lufkin
1992 Morgan Stanley
Brian R. McNamara
1991 Professor, Waterloo University
John C. Houck
1991 Research Scientist, Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Michael N. Fanelli
1991 Deputy Director, Kepler Guest Observer Program
Jeffrey G. Mangum
1990 Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Harry J. Lehto
1989 Astronomer, Turku University, Piikkiö, Finland
David S. Adler
1989 Science and Mission Scheduling Supervisor and Lead, Long Range Planning Group, Space Telescope Science Institute
Melissa A. McGrath
1988 Chief Scientist, Marshall Space Flight Center Science and Missions System Office, NASA
Robert T. Emmering
1988 Charles River Laboratories
Deborah A. Crocker
1987 Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Alabama
Raymond E. White III
1986 Professor, University of Alabama
James E. Wadiak
1986 President, BioTraces Inc. (deceased, 2003)
Andrew J. S. Hamilton
1984 Professor and JILA Fellow, University of Colorado
Alice K. Babcock Monet
1984 Astronomer, Flagstaff Station, United States Naval Observatory
Patrick O. Seitzer
1983 Associate Research Scientist, University of Michigan
Susan G. Neff
1982 Astrophysicist, GALEX Project Scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Kerry A. Kingham
1982 Earth Orientation Department, United States Naval Observatory
Ronald G. Probst
1981 Scientist Staff, KPNO
Frank H. Levinson
1980 Founder and Principal Technologist, Finisar Corporation
Linda L. Dressel
1979 RJH Scientific Inc.
Thomas E. Strikwerda
1977 Space Science and Technology Department, Applied Physics Laboratory, Johns Hopkins University
Alan P. Marscher
1977 Professor, Boston University
James M. Huntley
1977 Lucent Technologies
Thomas E. Corbin
1977 Chief, Cataloging Division, United States Naval Observatory
Thomas M. Bania
1977 Professor, Boston University
Jan M. Hollis
1976 Assistant Chief, Space Data and Computing Division, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
David M. Gibson
1976 Formerly: GEODSS Field Site, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Harold A. McAlister
1975 Regents’ Professor, Georgia State University and Director, Center for High Angular Resolution Astronomy
Paul D. Hemenway
1974 University of Rhode Island
Ronald E. Zissell
1973 Astronomy Technician, Mount Holyoke College
Charles D. Smith
1973 unknown
Alvin C. Miller
1973 CSC, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center (retired)
Paul T. Giguere
1973 Los Alamos National Labs
Frank O. Clark
1973 VSBC, Air Force Research Laboratory
Haywood C. Smith
1972 Associate Professor, University of Florida
Fred D. Rosenberg
1972 Member, Technical Staff, Lincoln Labs, MIT
Dan Pascu
1972 Data Reduction and Instrumentation Division, Astrometry Department, United States Naval Observatory
Joseph W. Mast
1972 Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Eastern Mennonite University
Dennis D. McCarthy
1972 United States Naval Observatory Earth Orientation Department, Retired
Mary Kay Hemenway
1971 Research Associate, Senior Lecturer, and Director, Educational Services Office, University of Texas, Austin
Catharine Garmany
1971 Senior Science Education Specialist - Astronomer, NOAO
Robert J. Doyle
1970 Associate Professor, Frostburg State University
Peter J. Shelus
1970 Research Scientist, University of Texas, Austin
John L. Hershey
1969 Astronomy Program, CSC, Space Telescope Science Institute
Richard A. Berg
1969 Booz Allen Hamilton
George W. Lockwood
1968 Astronomer, Lowell Observatory
Paul H. Knappenberger
1968 President, Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum
Frank N. Bash
1967 Professor Emeritus, University of Texas, Austin